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Day 3 - CIO and E-Marketing - Part 2
Day 3 - CIO and E-Marketing - Part 2
E-Marketing:
● Refers to using technology such as the internet, website
and email, sms, including its wide variety of options and
tools to conduct your marketing activities and achieve your
marketing objectives.
E-MARKETING TOOLS
E-Marketing tools and strategies include:
● Business websites;
● Search Engine;
● Email;
● Online newsletters/e-zines;
● Online catalogues;
● Online press releases;
● Online surveys;
● Online customer service;
● Banner advertising;
● Affiliate marketing.
● Mobile telephone marketing;
● Online Community (Friendster, YouTube) - new
● Web Log (Blog) - new
The e-Marketing Concept
Examples
Email
Cơ sở dữ liệu khách hàng
Website
http://www.fptpromo.com
1. Advertising on Youtube
Why Google bought Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/
1. YouTube is a video-sharing
website headquartered in
San Bruno, California,
United States.
2. The service was created by
three former PayPal
employees in February
2005.
3. In November 2006, it was
bought by Google for
US$1.65 billion.
4. YouTube now operates as
one of Google's subsidiaries.
Interactive Advertising
E-Marketing = Faaassst
2. Apply web 1.0 🡪 2.0
Web 1.0
- Vnexpress
- Dantri
Apply web 1.0 🡪 2.0
Web 2.0
- Wikipedia
- Youtube
- Facebook
- Myspace
Viral Marketing
3. Apply Email marketing
Email
- Mail list
- B2B portal, marketplace
- Business directories
Click to talk
http://www.europages.co.uk/
SPAM or NOT Spam
E-Mail marketing
4. Apply SMS
CPI
Cost per impressions
CPC
Cost Per Click
Measure of effectiveness
Sales per Visitor
30.000 USD / 300 viewer = USD 100 SPV
Conversion Ratio - CR
30 sản phẩm bán được / 3000 người xem = 1%
Quảng cáo bằng email: 8/100.000 = 0.008%
8. Customized recommendation
Amazon.com
Recommendation
8. Recommendation
Pop-up
Recommendation
9. Do you have websites?
UpSell
11. Selling strategy
CrossSell
12. Sale promotion
Returns / Rebates
13. Benefits from
websites
SEO
E-Marketing
marketing creativity
What Consumers Shop for and Buy
Online
• Big ticket items ($1000 or more)
– Travel, computer hardware, electronics
– Consumers now more confident in purchasing
costlier items
• Small ticket items ($100 or less)
– Apparel, books, office supplies, software, etc.
• Sales of bulky goods, furniture, and large
appliances rapidly expanding
Consumers Online: The Internet
Audience and Consumer Behavior
(1 of 3)
• Over 75% (92 million) of U.S. households had
broadband Internet access in 2016
• Growth rate has slowed
• Intensity and scope of use both increasing
• Some demographic groups have much higher
percentages of online usage
– Income, education, age, ethnic dimensions
Figure 6.1: A General Model of Consumer
Behavior
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Figure 6.2: The Consumer Decision Process
and Supporting Communications
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Figure 6.3: A Model of Online Consumer
Behavior
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Multi-Channel Marketing Plan
• Website
• Traditional online marketing
– Search engine, display, e-mail, affiliate
• Social marketing
– Social networks, blogs, video, games
• Mobile marketing
– Mobile/tablet sites, apps
• Offline marketing
– Television, radio, newspapers
Traditional Online Marketing and
Advertising Tools
• Search engine marketing and advertising
• Display ad marketing
• E-mail marketing
• Affiliate marketing
• Viral marketing
• Lead generation marketing
Search Engine Marketing and
Advertising (1 of 2)
• Search engine marketing (SEM)
– Use of search engines for branding
• Search engine advertising
– Use of search engines to support direct sales
• Types of search engine advertising
– Paid inclusion
– Pay-per-click (PPC) search ads
• Keyword advertising
• Network keyword advertising (context advertising)
Search Engine Marketing and
Advertising (2 of 2)
• Search engine optimization (SEO)
• Google search engine algorithms
• Social search
– Utilizes social contacts and social graph to provide
fewer and more relevant results
• Search engine issues
– Paid inclusion and placement practices
– Link farms, content farms
– Click fraud
Display Ad Marketing (1 of 2)
• Banner ads
• Rich media ads
– Interstitial ads
• Video ads
– Far more effective than other display formats
• Sponsorships
• Native advertising
Display Ad Marketing (2 of 2)
• Content marketing
• Advertising networks
• Ad exchanges, programmatic advertising, and
real-time bidding (RTB)
• Display advertising issues
– Ad fraud
– Viewability
– Ad blocking
E-mail Marketing
• Direct e-mail marketing
– Messages sent directly to interested users
– Benefits include
• Inexpensive
• Average around 3% to 4% click-throughs
• Measuring and tracking responses
• Personalization and targeting
• Three main challenges
– Spam
– Anti-spam software
– Poorly targeted purchased e-mail lists
Spam
• Unsolicited commercial e-mail
• Around 53% of all e-mail in 2016
• Most originates from bot networks
• Efforts to control spam have largely failed:
– Government regulation (CAN-SPAM)
– State laws
– Voluntary self-regulation by industries (DMA)
– Canada’s stringent anti-spam laws
Other Types of Traditional Online
Marketing
• Affiliate marketing
– Commission fee paid to other websites for sending
customers to their website
• Viral marketing
– Marketing designed to inspire customers to pass
message to others
• Lead generation marketing
– Services and tools for collecting, managing, and
converting leads
Social, Mobile, and Local
Marketing and Advertising
• Social marketing and advertising
– Use of online social networks and communities
• Mobile marketing and advertising
– Use of mobile platform
– Influence of mobile apps
• Local marketing
– Geotargeting
– Display ads in hyperlocal publications
– Coupons
Other Online Marketing Strategies
• Multi-channel marketing: Message integration
• Customer retention strategies
– One-to-one marketing (personalization)
– Behavioral targeting (interest-based advertising)
– Retargeting
• Customization and customer co-production
• Customer service
– FAQs
– Real-time customer service chat systems
– Automated response systems
Marketing Automation and
Customer Relationship
Management (CRM) Systems
• Marketing automation systems
– Track steps in lead generation
• CRM systems
– Manage relationship with customers once
purchase is made
– Create customer profiles
• Customer data used to:
– Develop and sell additional products
– Identify profitable customers
– Optimize service delivery, and so on
Figure 6.10: A Customer Relationship
Management System
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Online Marketing Metrics: Lexicon
• Audience size/market share metrics
– E.g., impressions, click-through rate (CTR), page views, viewability rate,
stickiness, loyalty, reach, recency
• Conversion to customer metrics
– E.g., acquisition rate, conversion rate, browse-to-buy ratio, cart
conversion rate, abandonment rate
• Video ad metrics
– E.g., view time, completion rate
• E-mail campaign metrics
– E.g., open rate, delivery rate, click-through rate, bounce-back rate
Figure 6.11: An Online Consumer Purchasing
Model
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How Well Does Online Advertising
Work?
• Use ROI to measure ad campaign
• Difficulty of cross-platform attribution
• Highest click-through rates: Search engine ads,
permission e-mail campaigns
• Online channels compare favorably with
traditional
• Most powerful marketing campaigns use
multiple channels, including online, catalog,
TV, radio, newspapers, stores
The Costs of Online Advertising
• Pricing models
– Barter, cost per thousand (CPM), cost per click
(CPC), cost per action (CPA), hybrid, sponsorship
• Measuring issues
– Correlating online marketing to online or offline
sales
• In general, online marketing is more expensive
on CPM basis, but more efficient in producing
sales
• Effective cost-per-thousand (eCPM)
Marketing Analytics
• Software that analyzes data at each stage of
the customer conversion process
– Awareness
– Engagement
– Interaction
– Purchase activity
– Loyalty and post-purchase
• Helps managers
– Optimize ROI on website and marketing efforts
– Build detailed customer profiles
Figure 6.12: Marketing Analytics and the
Online Purchasing Process
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Figure 7.3: Online Marketing Platforms
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Figure 7.4: Engagement at Top Social
Networks
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Figure 7.4: Engagement at Top Social
Networks
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Twitter Marketing
• Real-time interaction with consumers
• 310 million active users worldwide
– Over 90% access Twitter from mobile device
• Basic features
– Tweets, retweets, followers, message (DM),
hashtag, mention, reply, links
– Moments tab, Timeline
Twitter Marketing Tools
• Promoted Tweets
• Promoted Trends
• Promoted Accounts
• Enhanced Profile Page
• Amplify
• Promoted Video
• Television Ad Retargeting
• Lead Generation Cards
• Mobile Ads
Pinterest Marketing
• One of the fastest-growing and largest image-sharing sites
• Enables users to talk about brands using pictures rather than
words
• Features include:
– Pins and re-pins to boards
– Share
– Follow
– Contributors
– Links to URLS
– Price displays
Pinterest Marketing Tools
• Rich Pins, Promoted Pins, Cinematic Pins
• Buyable Pins/Shop Our Picks
• Promoted Video
• Add Pin It and Follow buttons
• Pin as display ad
• Theme-based (lifestyle) boards
• Brand pages
• URL link to stores
• Integration with other social sites
• Network with users, followers, others
Marketing on Other Social
Networks
• Instagram
– Brand profiles, ad campaigns (display and video),
Buy buttons, Marquee ads
• LinkedIn
– Company profiles, showcase pages, Career Page,
Display ads (Feeds), self-service ads or Advertising
Partner Solutions, sponsored inMail, LinkedIn
Pulse
• Snapchat
– Snapchat Stories, Live Stories, Discover, Snap Ads,
Sponsored Geofilters, Sponsored Lenses
The Downside of Social Marketing
• Loss of control
– Where ads appear in terms of other content
– What people say
• Posts
• Comments
• Inaccurate or embarrassing material
• In contrast, TV ads maintain near complete
control
Mobile Marketing
• More than 262 million Americans use mobile
phones
– Devices used multiple times per day
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Figure 7.7: How People Use Their Mobile
Devices to Shop
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Figure 7.13: Local, Mobile, and Location-
Based Mobile Marketing
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Location-Based Marketing Platforms
• Google
– Android OS, Google Maps, Google Places, AdMob, AdWords
• Facebook
• Apple
– iOS, iAd
• Twitter
• Others: YP, Pandora, Millenial
Copyright © 2018, 2017, 2016 Pearson Education, Inc. All Rights Reserved
E-MARKETING TOPICS
● Affiliate Program
● Search Engine Optimization
● Email Campaigns
● Banner Exchange
● Business Website
● Mobile Phone Marketing
Affiliate Program
Affiliate Program
Affiliate Advantages
1. Increased sales.
Affiliate Disadvantages
1. Potentially expensive up-front costs.
2. Administrative overhead.
3. Accounting overhead.
Affiliate Code
● For an affiliate to get credit, they need an affiliate ID. These typically
come in two flavors, a promocode or an affiliate code. An affiliate
code is granted to owners of Web sites that have been approved for
linking to your site.
● The affiliate code is added to their link to your site so that they can
get credit for sales coming from their site. The example below
passes the affiliate code 1047917.
Overview
● A search engine is a service where internet users can go to the search
engine web site and search for web sites that interest them by
inputting keywords. The search engine then displays the results of their
search starting with the web sites that best meet the search criteria
down to the web sites that least fit the search criteria.
● Search engines are becoming ever more popular especially when you
consider how many web sites there are on the internet today and most
users have limited time to find what they are looking for.
Search engine optimisation is the process of getting your web site
address or URL as close as possible to the top of the search results
when someone using the search engines is looking for the products you
sell.
Search Engines
● Visiting your own link in the results of some search engines can improve
your ranking.
● Avoid frames, Web sites using frames can not be picked up by all search
engine spiders.
● Avoid keyword spamming, any excessive use of keywords can hurt your
placement in the search engines.
● Use an entry page through which people can access your Web site, but is
optimized with the rules above, thus more desirable to the search engines.
Email
Campaigns
Email Campaigns
● The creation cost for both are about the same but the
publication and distribution costs for direct email is
much less. This gives you the opportunity to use direct
email on the Internet on a much smaller budget.
Email Campaigns
Spam Email
● A sharp line divides email marketing from spam.
Basically email marketing is solicited email
(requested), and spam is non-solicited email
(not requested).
Opt-out Email
● Opt-out email is email sent to target groups who have shown an interest in
a specific topic. Once the email is received, the recipient has the option to
"unsubscribe" from receiving further email from you.
● Opt-out list may start as a legit email list, but those lists are often bought,
sold, shared, rented or exchanged by others with similar lists. This results in
your email address being vulnerable to anyone, including spammers.
● Opt-out email is often mistaken for spam since you don't specifically ask for
opt-out email.
Email Campaigns
Opt-in Email
● Opt-in email is email that has been specifically requested. This email
approach will be well received by your target audience since they
ask you to send it to them.
● Most Opt-in sign ups are single opt-in, meaning you enter your email
address then you click a submit button and you are subscribed.
● In email marketing, the envelope is the email's From: line, Subject: line, and
To: line. Following a few simple rules can increase the success of an email
campaign dramatically.
● You should start the email off with a headline at the top which is set apart
from the rest of the email by single dashed line on the top and bottom of
the header. The header should be two lines at most and summarize exactly
what you have to offer.
● The signature is the section at the bottom of your email that allows you to
identify yourself and offer contact information. Using a signature at the
bottom of your emails ensures that the recipient knows who originally sent
the email, even if it is forwarded.
Email Campaigns
Response Tracking
● Response tracking from email marketing can be
handled easily by two methods. First, the campaign
can include a Web page address that is unique to the
campaign, and you can track the visitors to that page.
Next, you can associate a promocode with the
campaign and track how often it is used.
Newsletters
● Newsletters, in this case, are email messages distributed by a company or organization to an
opt-in list on a set schedule. Newsletters typically announce sales, specials, schedules, events,
product releases, as well as a payload of useful information that makes the newsletters
newsworthy.
● There are two types of marketing opportunities with newsletters. You can either offer your own
newsletter or you can advertise in someone else's newsletter.
● Setting Tone: To create an effective newsletter that people want to read on a regular basis
requires choosing a topic that you can be the authority on and that the readers will look
forward to reading.
● Setting the Frequency: You must determine how often the newsletter should be mailed out.
Too often and readers feel overloaded and will likely unsubscribe. Too infrequently and readers
may forget who you are and think you are spamming them.
● Archive Your Newsletters: If you do offer both ASCII and HTML versions, then archiving your
newsletters on your Web site will be very easy. Each month you simply add a link to your
monthly newsletter within the archive section and add the new newsletter with a new name.
Email Campaigns
● Next, the sign up process needs to be very easy, with just enough questions
to understand who your readers are, but not so many that they may hold
them back from signing up.
● Finally, you need to clearly explain your privacy policy so your readers feel
secure. You should never give your list to anyone, never email your list for
anyone, and let your users know that is your policy.
Banner
Exchange
Banner Exchange
Banner Advertising
● A banner advertisement is an image placed at the top or
bottom of a web page, to catch the viewer's eye and
possibly prompt them to click on it.
● It can either be static, that is, simply like a billboard
displaying the name of a website, or dynamic, encouraging
the user to click on the banner image to be transferred to
that website.
● Banner advertising is based on one-to-many advertising
rather than one-to-one. It has traditionally been the most
common form of promotion on the web.
Banner Exchange
Banner Advertising
Banner Exchange
Banner/Link Exchanges
● A banner exchange (link exchange) is a cooperative
advertising program where participating businesses
work together to promote each other's
products/services and websites on an exchange rather
than paid basis.
Banner Optimization
Banner Size
Banner Optimization
Banner Colors
● Bright colors get the most mileage. Yellow, orange, and green
attract more attention than red, blue and black. A banner that gives
the appearance of a yellow page ad is highly effective.
Banner Exchange
Banner Optimization
Banner Graphics
Banner Optimization
Banner Content
● Of course the banner message is very important. The message should convey what is in it for
the visitor: how they can save, how they can benefit, why them, etc. The content should focus
on emotions like fear, curiosity, humor, or the big promise.
● The word "FREE" is still the most powerful word in advertising. Offer a free drawing, free
subscription to an e-zine, free advertising, free trial offer, free download for software, etc. For
example, WebYoda offers a free tour of the Internet which is pulled as a sample of the
Mastering the Internet course.
Banner Exchange
Business
Website
Business Website
● Technically speaking a web site is a related collection of World Wide
Web (WWW) files that includes a beginning file called a home page.
A company tells customers and potential customers where to find
their website on the internet by giving them the address (or URL) of
their home page. From the home page, you can get to all the other
pages on their site. For example, the web site for the Small Business
Development Corporation (SBDC) has the home page address of
http://www.sbdc.com.au
Mobile Phone
Marketing
Mobile Telephone Marketing
● The main use of SMS is by mobile phone users especially the youth market sending
messages to each other via their mobile phones or via a computer to mobile phones.
● There are also technology companies that offer the service of sending bulk SMS's to
multiple mobile telephones at one time.
● For the purposes of e-Marketing, small business can send SMS messages via a
personal computer or have a specialist technology company send the messages on
their behalf to prospective and existing customers. The messages can promote
almost anything such as advertising product specials, promoting a web site, inviting
them to a function, to participate in a competition etc..
Mobile Telephone Marketing