You are on page 1of 4

Frequencies of all the Swars

Many artists across the world are still debating over the
frequencies of the Swars. Here is the table of those
frequencies, which are used, in western music. Indian
frequencies are also somewhat similar to them.
Swar Frequency Notation
Sa 240 Sa
Komal Re 256 Re_
Re 270 Re
Komal Ga 288 Ga_
Ga 300 Ga
Ma 320 Ma
Tiwra Ma 337 Maa
Pa 360 Pa
Komal Dha 384 Dha_
Dha 400 Dha
Komal Ni 432 Ni_
Ni 450 Ni
Sa ( from next octave ) 480 Sa.

Raag is a Sanskrut word. The meaning is "the
melodious group of notes which entertains". When we hear a
typical tune of some notes, we immediately recognize it as
Raag MiyaMalhar or Raag Bhup.

Rules of Raag:
1) Any Raag always contains Swar "Sa" in it. "Sa" is not
2) Swars "Ma" and "Pa" are not omitted in the same Raag.
3) A Raag always consists of minimum of 5 Swars.
4) Each Raag is defined by "Aroha" and "Avaroha".
Aroha: The group of swars in ascending order is called as
Example: The Aroha of Raag Bhup is:
Sa Re Ga Pa Dha Sa.
This means, Raag Bhup, typically contains these 5 swars
only. ( Note that the last "Sa." is from the next octave. )

Avaroha: The group of swars in ascending order is called as

Example: The Avaroha of Raag Bhup is:
Sa. Dha Pa Ga Re Sa

Vaadi Swar: This is the primary Swar in the Raag. It is

played more times than the other Swars from that Raag.
Example: The Vaadi Swar of Raag Bhup is "Ga".

Sanvaadi Swar: This is the secondary Swar in the Raag. It

is also played more times than the other Swaes but not
more than Vaadi Swar.
Example: The Sanvaadi Swar of Raag Bhup is "Dha".

Western Music
English men ruled India, for more than 150 years. Their
culture, their manners, their way of thinking affected Indian
living. But, the Indian music remained unaffected. Though,
now-a-days, Hindi ( Bollywood ) music is accepting many
things from western music. Nevrtheless, being one of the
great music, we are going to get introduced with western
music, now.
Typically, Indian music is based on solo or duet
performance of the artists. Where-as the western music
believes in the Harmony. Harmony means mixture of
different melodious notes.

Melody: Melody means the notes are played one after the
Scale: In Indian music, we can decied any one note as "Sa",
like Black 5 or White 4. But in western music the White 1
note "C" is treated as fixed "Sa". It never changes. The
octave starting from it, is called as C-scale. The next scale is
D, E, F, and so on.
The different types of scales are major scale, minor scale,
relative scale, major-relative scale, minor-relative scale,
chromatic scale.

Chord: Playing 2 or more notes at a time is termed as a

chord. As Indian music has hundreds of Raags, the western
music has hundreds of chords.

Western notes
Natural tune: It is the original note.
Flat tune: It is of less frequency than the original note's.
Sharp tune: It is of more frequency than the original note's.

Indian notes have names like Sa, Re, Ga. But western notes
are typically denoted by symbols inside 5 parallel lines as
show in following figure: