You are on page 1of 4

India Wins Twenty 20 World Cup –Videos, Pics, Story

Videos for Twenty 20 Chasing 158 in the final of the first ever Twenty20 World Cup at Johannesburg, Pakistan was skittled out 152 with three balls remaining. Defending a modest 158, RP Singh struck first up to scalp Mohammad Hafeez for one run and give India a kickstart. He struck in his successive over to uproot Kamran Akmal for a duck even as the Pakistan batsmen scored freely off a wayward Sreesanth. But with Imran Nazir and Younis Khan at the crease, Pakistan looked in control as the runs kept coming thick and fast. The duo scored briskly and pulled down the required run rate to below eight.

Just when it looked that Pakistan were cruising, a superb throw from Robin Uthappa at mid off brought an end to Nazir's cameo who was run out for 33. Earlier, Gautam Gambhir, who scored 75 off 54 with the help of eight boundaries and two sixes helped India reach a fighting total. Pakistan bowlers did a tremendous job to restrict India to 157 for five after electing to bat. Umar Gul, with his match figures of 4-0-28-3 was the best bowlers of the day. Gul dismissed the big-hitting Yuvraj Singh, skipper Mahendra Dhoni and a well-set Gautam Gambhir as India were restricted to 157-5 after electing to bat.

The match pitted as the 'mother of all contests' lived up to the hype attached to it as the drama unfolded even before a ball was bowled. The fans went beserk when the two teams walked out in the middle. There were early jitters for India as on the very first delivery a slight confusion between Gautam Gambhir and Yousuf Pathan resulted in a near run out before replays showed he was safe. Post that, the two openers put India on the fast track as they belted a slower than usual Mohammad Asif all around scoring 13 runs in the first over.

But Asif struck in his successive over to give Pakistan a crucial breakthrough when Pathan miscued a pull shot and Shoaib Malik pouched a simple catch at mid wicket sending him back for 15. Sohail Tanvir struck soon after to dismiss Robin Uthappa for 8 runs and peg India back. But Gambhir remained composed at the other end and kept the momentum going. He used his feet perfectly to the spinners as India waited to punish the bad balls. Yuvraj Singh was bottled down by the spinners and took a while before he got his first boundary. He could not get going and was gone for 14 off 19 balls trying to force the scoring off Gul. The two men capable of giving impetus to the Indian score failed on the big occasion, both falling to Gul in his two successive overs. In what comes as a huge blow, Virender Sehwag has not recovered from his groin injury and will miss this game. He is replaced by Yusuf Pathan. Pakistan have also made one change, bringing in Yasir Arafat in place of Fawad Alam.

It will be a fiercely contested battle between the two teams who were never really the favourites and upset all the heavyweights to set up the 'dream final'. History though is on India's side. They have never lost a World Cup game against Pakistan. Shah Rukh Khan was there on the field cheering for the Indians. Video Links

Yuvraj�s� 6 sixes on tape

India are World Twenty20 champions
G Rajaraman (Sportz Interactive) Monday, September 24, 2007 5:14:21 PM The pressure caught up on the inexperienced Pakistan batsmen, losing wickets at consistent intervals, losing the plot by 5 runs. The most thrilling grand finale produced the most exhilarating match of the tournament. The outcome – India are the World Twenty20 champions. A gem of an innings from middle-order batsman Misbah-ul-Haq reignited Pakistani chances after losing the plot at the halfway stage. The pressure was on Joginder Sharma, who bowled the very last over the match. Pakistan needed 13 runs for victory and the fortunes swung India’s way. Sreesanth claimed the last catch to crash Pakistan’s hopes. Irfan Pathan was the leading light for India ending with astounding figures of 3-16 from his quota of four overs. Misbah-ul-Haq struck three massive sixes off Harbhajan Singh’s bowling in the 17th over to reduce Pakistan’s equation to 35 runs from 18 balls. Sohail Tanvir smashed Sreesanth for two massive sixes in the 18th over to reduce the equation to twenty runs from the last two overs – making it anyone’s game! All of Pakistan were hoping for a startling finish courtesy of Misbah-ul-Haq, but it was never going to be an easy task for the 1992 World Cup champions. Imran Nazir's initial onslaught was pegged back by a stupendous new-ball spell from RP Singh and Sreesanth. The latter conceded 21 runs in his first over and made up for it with a priceless maiden in his second. India’s best bowler of the tournament RP Singh dismissed Mohammad Hafeez in the very first over caught at first slip by Robin Uthappa. Later, he uprooted the stumps of the dangerous Kamran Akmal in his very second over.

Pakistan needed 88 runs at the crucial halfway stage of their innings but they’re hopes came crashing down on them courtesy of a terrific 12th over from Irfan Pathan – the leftarm fast bowler dismissed Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi in the space of three deliveries. Harbhajan Singh was introduced very late into the attack – an intelligent piece of captaincy from MS Dhoni. Earlier, Umar Gul (3-28) rocked the Indian middle-order dimissing Yuvraj Singh caught and bowled and then uprooting Indian captain Dhoni's stumps with a staggering yorker length delivery. Gautam Gamhir (75 runs from 54 balls) guided India to a competitive total of 157-5. The pressure of the grand finale caught up on the Indian players as Umar Gul snapped three wickets to emerge as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, taking his overall tally to 13. Fittingly, he dismissed the top-scorer of the Indian innings Gautam Gambhir in the very last delivery of his spell.

Teams India: Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni, Yousuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Sreesanth, RP Singh. Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asif, Yasir Arafat.