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PAMS ELECTRICALS

P.O BOX 3765-00100


NAIROBI
EMAIL: pamselectricals98@gmail.com

INSTITUTION: NAIROBI TECHNICAL TRAINING INSTITUTE


STUDENT’S NAME: OCHIENG DUNCAN
COURSE CODE: 1601
PAPER CODE: 207/B
EXAMINATION BODY: KENYA NATIONAL EXAMINATION COUNCIL
EXAMINATION SERIES: NOVEMBER 2021

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DECLARATION
I hereby declare that this is my own written work. I got the idea from reading business magazines such
as kinetic lifts and elevators company’s business magazine.

Student’s Sign…………………………………………………….

Supervisor’s Sign…………………………………………………

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DEDICATION
I hereby dedicate this work to my dear parents who have been with me through ups and down during
my studies. And also to everyone who have been of help.

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ACKNOLEDGEMENT
I hereby take this opportunity to acknowledge Nairobi Technical Training Institute for giving me the
knowledge so that I can come up with this business plan. NTTI has been a condusive environment for
learning.

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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
CHAPTER ONE: BUSINESS DESCRIPTION
Pams electricals will be the name of the business. The business will be offering various electrical
services, electrical installations and selling electrical products. The business will be located in Civil
servants as it will attract many customers as the area is still under development. The area has a large
population and social amenities as well. The owner of the business chose it because it will aern him
enough money for all the financial needs.

CHAPTER TWO: MARKETING PLAN


After a thorough survey, Pams electricals will be able to serve a wide range of customers as expected by
the owner. These will include non-governmental organizations, individual customers and institutions
from far and within. The entrepreneur will face the following competitors: Civo electricals, Dayspring
electricals and Macharia and Sons electricals where my business will outshine all with the largest market
share of 40% of the total, Macharia and Sons electricals 30%, Dayspring electricals 20% and Civo
electricals 10%.

CHAPTER THREE: ORGANIZATION PLAN


The organization and management plan is a very important aspect in any business success as it shows
who in command and control and to see the running of the business. The business will success with the
help of a Human Resource, Secretary, Accountant, Watchman and a Cleaner.

CHAPTER FOUR: PRODUCTION/OPERATION PLAN


The proposed business will be dedicated to offer high qualified jobs and skillfully serve its customers.
This will aid our clients to acquire all the electrical services and products. A detailed office layout is also
laid down in production plan where each employee to follow incase one breaks the rules, he/she might
face some consequences.

CHAPTER FIVE: FINANCIAL PLAN


Financial plan is a very crucial document. All business transactions will be put into various books of
accounts like the balance sheet, proforma income statement, cash flow statement, to show whether the
business is making profits or running at losses.
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TABLE OF CONTENTS
CONTENT PAGE
Declaration…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..i
Dedication…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..ii
Acknowledgement……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..iii
Executive summary…………………………………………………………………………………………………………...iv
CHAPTER ONE
1.0 Introduction…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..8
1.1 Business name…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…..8
1.2 Business name and the address…………………………………………………………………………………..8-9
1.3 Form of business ownership……………………………………………………………………………………..9-10
1.4 Type of business……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..10
1.5 Products and services………………………………………………………………………………………………..……10
1.6 Justification of business opportunity…………………………………………………………………………10-11
1.7 Industry………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….11
1.8 Business goals…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..11-12
1.9 Entry and growth strategy………………………………………………………………………………………………12
CHAPTER TWO
2.0 Marketing plan………………………………………………………………………………………………………………13
2.1 Potential customers……………………………………………………………………………………………………….13
2.2 Competition………………………………………………………………………………………………………………13-14
2.3 Market share……………………………………………………………………………………………………………14-15
2.4 Pricing strategy…………………………………………………………………………………………………………15-16
2.6 Advertising and promotion strategy……………………………………………………………………….…16-17
2.7 Distribution strategy…………………………………………………………………………………………………17-18
CHAPTER THREE
3.0 Organization and management……………………………………………………………………………………..19

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3.1 Organization chart……………………………………………………………………………………………..………….19
3.2 Manager………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..19
3.3 Other staff……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….20-21
3.4 Recruitment, training and promotions…………………………………………………………………………..21
3.5 Renumeration and incentives…………………………………………………………………………………..21-22
3.6 Licensing/Registration…………………………………………………………………………………………………..22
3.7 Supporting services…………………………………………………………………………………………….……22-23
CHAPTER FOUR
4.0 Operation/production plan………………………………………………………………………………………….24
4.1 Production facilities and capacity…………………………………………………………………………………24
4.2 Production process……………………………………………………………………………………………………….25
4.3 Licenses………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………...26
4.4 Regulations affecting operations……………………………………………………………………………………26
CHAPTER FIVE
5.0 Financial plan………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….27
5.1 Personal living expenses…………………………………………………………………………………………………27
5.2 Pre-operational expenses…………………………………………………………………………………………27-28
5.3 Monthly cash flow…………………………………………………………………………………………………………29
5.4 Income (profit and loss) projection statement……………………………………………………………….30
5.5 Projected balance sheet…………………………………………………………………………………………………31
5.7 Financial analysis…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….32
5.8 Ratio analysis……………………………………………………………………………………………………………33-34
5.9 The proposed capitalization……………………………………………………………………………………………35
5.10 Risk assumption……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..35

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CHAPTER ONE: BUSINESS DESCRIPTION

1.0 INTRODUCTION

Pams electricals will be the name of the business. The business name has been derived from my beloved mother’s
name Pamela.
The business will be dealing in various electrical products and accessories which will be of high quality and
affordable to all customers.
The business will also provide electrical installations and maintenance services.
This is because am an expert in electrical engineering field.
I started having the experience while I was still in high school because I used to work with my elder brother who is
an electrical engineer. And that’s where my interest in the field of electrical engineering started.

1.1 BUSINESS NAME


The name of the business will be Pams Electricals which is the short form of my mother’s name Pamela who really
not only loved her children only but also loved others and also loved peace and conflict solving.
I chose the name because I never wanted the name to fade away but to be remembered forever.

SOURCES OF CAPITAL AMOUNT (Kshs)

Personal savings 50,000


Family and friends 40,000
Bank loans 60,000

Leasing 50,000

TOTAL AMOUNT (Kshs) 200,000

1.2 BUSINESS NAME AND THE ADDRESS


Pams electricals will be the name of the business which is the derived from my beloved mother’s name Pamela.
The business will be located in Civil servants in Kariobangi South along route 36 road opposite Dayspring Academy.

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Pams Electricals address will be:
PAMS ELECTRICALS
P.O BOX 3765-00100
NAIROBI
CELLPHONE: 0700269742
TELLEPHONE: 0100026736
EMAIL ADDRESS: pamselectrical01@gmail.com The location of the business is suitable due to the following
factors;
Availability of security; There is presence of security in Civil servants area due to the presence of police post and
also the office of the area chief. The two administrators have been investigating crimes and theft issues and
justifying them according to the country’s laws. This has made the area totally safe for the business.

Affordability of affordable labour- Pams Electricals will hire unskilled personnel to do the loading and offloading of
the electrical products which is much cheaper

Availability of capital- Pams Electricals will be able to borrow loans from banks which are located in the same area
making it to easily grow in terms of finance. Some SACCOS are also available in the area which are trusted to giving
loans to young businesses for growth.

Ready market- Since the area is under development due to many people are investing in building, so there are
many rentals which need electricity. The area also does not have a stiff competition.

Technology- Civil servants is growing in terms of technology and electrical installation being one of the major
growing technologies in the country, Pams electricals will have a good chance for growth in terms of finance.

Availability of good infrastructure- The area has very good roads and a railway line that provide transportation of
goods to and from the market. The goods can be transported without any interference. This will make the
customers happy when they buy bulky goods and being delivered to them at the right time

1.3 FOM OF BUSINESS OWNERSHIP


Pams electricals will be a sole proprietorship. This is because of the following reasons;
Freedom – In a sole proprietorship, there is freedom since one does not have rules but have their own rules in
managing the business.

Decision making – in sole proprietorship, one makes their own decisions whenever there is an issue and they come
up with their own solutions towards the issue occurred.

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Easy to manage and run the business – The owner will be able to run and manage the business and give time for
the business and also give time for other issues to be created for since the owner is also who plan for their working
schedules.

Easy process – This may occur during the changing of the business plan and structure, it will be easy due to it being
a sole proprietor which is very flexible.

Enjoys the profit alone – Since it will be a sole proprietor, it will be able to enjoy the returns of the benefits alone
without sharing unlike in partnership where you have to divide the profits among other entrepreneurs in the
business in the ratio of their shares towards the business.

Improve the living standards – If the entrepreneur is a sole proprietor, it will improve the living standards and have
a great future ahead due to a successful business.

Easy decision making – The entrepreneur will be able to control the business with more people to make decisions
about the business. The entrepreneur can make come up with a suitable solution to a certain problem which is
suitable for the business.

1.4 TYPE OF BUSINESS


The owner of the business decided to conduct both retail and wholesale since it is fast growing. This is because by
conducting through retail type of business, there is an access to many customers. This enables the owner to
associate with the customers fully and know what their problem is and what they need, what they lack and even
rate him/herself how he is offering his services. After the expansion of the business, the business will grow and be
big. The owner decided to use wholesale due to many customers and high demand from them.

1.5 PRODUCTS AND SERVICES


The business will be dealing in all high quality and affordable electrical products, electrical accessories and all
measuring equipments and instruments which are related to electricity and power. The business will not only deal
with the alternating current but also direct current facilities e.g the acid batteries, solar and generators.

The business will be offering the following services to it’s prospective customers.
Electrical installation – The business will also involve in the electrical installation services to it’s customers when
the need to do so is necessary.

After - sale - services – The business will offer such service i.e transportation of goods to the destination where the
customer need them. This will only happen when the customers hit a certain amount of purchase or the after sale
service target.

1.6 JUSTIFICATION OF THE BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY


Availability of transport means;
The entrepreneur needs to know where to get his transportation means so as to transport his goods and delivery
services.

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Availability of security; When one is operating a business, security measures should be of high standards. To make
the business to operate well in the area, the security is tight as the police post and the office of the chief are
located in the area.

Advanced technology;
There should be an advanced technology and it’s equipments should not be faulty. The owner should be in need of
technology for the business to run smoothly i.e having computers for entering the records because the records
stored in a computer can stay for a longer time and can be easily accessed when needed because it only needs to
open a specific folder and also saves paper work. The business should also need technology to advertise it’s goods
and services.

Good infrastructure;
The roads leading to the business should be well tarmacked. There should be good communication facilities in the
area. The system should be good enough for good communication.

Ready market; The entrepreneur should locate the business at a point where ready market is available so as to
make profits and sell the business products and services at a higher rate.

1.7 INDUSTRY
The business will be under Electric Power Industry. The business will deal with electrical products which makes it to
fit in the Electric Power Industry.
The Electric Power Industry is rapidly growing all over the world because there is no technology which does not use
electric power. It grows rapidly because even the other industries need electric power for their operations.

1.8 BUSINESS GOALS


Creation of job opportunities;
Pams electricals is a business in which the owner will be willing to create employment opportunities for many
around the Civil servants region since it will need help from other personnel both skilled and unskilled.

Increase in stock;
The stock will be highly increased since area is in high demand of the electrical products.

Improve living standards;


The business will need to employ other personnel thus improving their standards of living.

Expansion of the business;


Creation of more services should be observed with time as it will proof that the business is growing. It can be done
by opening of more stores or other branches.

Increase in customers;
As the business continuous to grow, customers are likely to increase thus becoming an aim to all entrepreneurs.
This means that there is a dear evidence that the business is fairing on perfectly.

Paying back the loans;


The loan that is to be taken during the start of the business should be paid back after a certain period of time. The
business will be planning to pay back the loans within the first five months of operation.

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Open more branches;
The business is to make more profits thus expanding and opening more branches in different areas.

Media advertisement;
After the business has gained lots of profits and refereals, it is safe to practice media advertisements as this
practice is expensive, the media helps the business to be well marketed by making it well known.

Support;
After some period of time, Pams electricals will be able to support other small businesses i.e through loans

1.9 ENTRY AND GROWTH STRATEGY.

Entry is the act of advertising the business through signposts, flyers, discounts, social media and extra services such
as free delivery.

1.9.1 Signposts.
They are created and displayed along the roads. Such that passas by can easily spot them

PAMS ELECTRICALS

FOR HIGH QUQLITY

ELECTRICAL PRODUCTS

WITH THE BEST PRICES

1.9.2 Flyers.
The business will temporally employ some young boys and girls to issue the flyers out on the roads
within the whole region to make the business well known, describing the types of products it will deal
with together with the services it will offer.

1.9.3. Discounts.
The business will offer discounts at the start of the business to attract more customers. In every
business, customers are attracted to where discounts are offered. This will increase the quantity of sales
in the business thus increasing the demand of goods and the services in the region and perhaps outside
the region where the business will be located in.

1.9.4. Creation of social media handles.


Social media helps in creating awareness of the business to other people due to rapid growth of
technology. Creating the social media handles will help the business to advertise it’s products and the
services it will offer thus attracting more customers within the business.

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CHAPTER TWO
2.0 MARKETING PLAN

It is achieved by identifying the groups of customers of the competitors’ products and services
offering towards a particular market segment.

2.1 POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS

Pams electricals will be able to serve a wide range of customers as expected by the owner. The
customers will include;

2.1.1Non Government Organizations.


The business is located near Red-cross thus making the goods to be sold highly. As many people
come in and out of the embassy and Pams electricals is easily noticeable as there are posters
alongside the roads that lead them to the shop.

2.1.2 Individual Customers.


Location of Pams electricals shop will draw
attention to the passerby as there will be a large signpost that show the products being sold
and the services being offered by the business. Locals and the pedestrians will be able to
purchase goods at any time as the business will be open for 24hours. These will increase sales
in the business as there are many local people around thus making profits as planned.

2.1.3 Institutions. Pams electricals shop will be located near several institutions such as
Dayspring Academy Ndururuno Secondary School, Kwa mbao Administration police and the
Red-cross. The institutions will boost the business in terms of profits and purchases can be
made easily and faster. These institutions will be making large orders thus increasing more sales
as they will need ele4ctricity installation, repairs and also electrical maintenance. 2.2
2.2COMPETITION

Pams electricals will stiff competition from several electrical shops located in the same area.
The business will face competition from the following electrical shops:
Macharia and sons electrical shop.
Civo electrical shop.

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Dayspring electrical shop. Macharia and sons electrical shop is located 100 meters away from
where Pams electricals will be located. Civo electricals is located 150 meters away and
Dayspring electricals is located in the same building as Pams electricals.

BUSINESS NAME STRENTH WEAKNESSES OPPORTUNITY THREATS


Pams electricals -Advanced -Inadequate -Security. -High taxation
technology. space -Good
-Skilled infrastructure
personnel

Macharia and sons -Enough -Inadequate -Security -High taxation


electricals facilities space -Good
-Outdated infrastructure
machines

Civo electricals -Advanced -Not permanent -Good -Poor market


technology -Less capital infrastructure -High taxation
-Security
Dayspring -Enough stock -Minimum -Ready market -Unlicensed business
electricals -Enough space working hours
-Unskilled
personnel

Pams electricals can capitalize on competitors’ weakness by identifying them and making them his
strong hold in the business, in order to keep up with the competition making it excel in it’s operations.
Pams electricals can therefore invest more on enough facilities to attract more customers and ensure
efficiency in the business.

2.3 MARKET SHARE

Total market share is 10/10.


Pams electricals 4/10 × 360= 144
Macharia and sons electricals 3/10 × 360= 108
Civo electricals 1/10 × 360= 36 Dayspring 2/10 × 360= 72

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PAMS ELECTRICALS

MACHARIA AND SONS ELECTRICALS

DAYSPRING ELECTRICALS

CIVO ELECTRICALS

2.4 PRICING STRATEGY

The following factors will be considered when choosing the prices

2.4.1 Costs of product.


The costs of production helps while choosing a price in letting the costs be known of the products thus
should be considered while choosing the prices in the business.

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2.4.2 Quality of the products.
The products should be affordable and of good quality thus making the business to choose a fare price
for the products.

2.4.3 Competition.
As a business person I have to set up my own price looking also at my other competitors with the same
products and qualities. Whenever the prices inflate, I should be at fro with my competitors. I should also
not over price my products.

2.4.4 Location of the business.


It should help me know how the business is going to price it’s products and if they are going to give the
business a profit. The location should be customers friendly.

2.4.5 Market products.


When choosing the prices, one should consider what are the products in the market. One should be able
to know what his/her products are.

2.4.6 Demand of the products. During pricing strategy, one should consider a reasonable profitable
profits. Products on demand should have a reasonable prices while those with less demands should
have at least lower prices.

PRICING STRATEGY: SALES TARGET TABLE


ITEMS QUANTITY AMOUNT (Kshs) DISCOUNTS
Pliers 1 200 8% for a dozen
Side cutter 1 200 8% for a dozen
1.5 PVC cable 1 Meter 80 5% for a roll
2.5 PVC Cable 1 Meter 120 5% for a roll
1.5 Flexible code 1 Roll 4500 5% for a roll
8 watts LED bulb 1 150 10% for a dozen
100 watts bulb 1 100 10% for a dozen
Flexible LED lights 1 Meter 250 10% for a roll
Generator 1 45,000 2% Discount
80 watts solar panel 1 12,000 2% Discount
Switch 2 gang 1 300 5% for a dozen
Socket 1 250 5% for a dozen
Deep patrice 1 50 2% for a dozen
TOTAL 62,000

2.6 ADVERTISING AND PROMOTION STRATEGY

This is the way of making the business more popular to many through the following;

2.6.1 Sales person.


Walking around with flyers advertising the products that are being sold.

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2.6.2 Posters and signposts.
Posters are placed anywhere thus making anybody who passes by them to see them even having time to
read them and the direction where the business shop is.

2.6.3 Social media.


The business will use social media platforms such as facebook, twitter and Instagram. As the world is
revolving so is everyone changing. Most people use social media to promote their businesses.

2.6.4 Offers. These are services or products usually the after sale to customers that attracts them for
the purpose of tomorrow i.e giving discounts or offering free transportation for bulky goods.

2.6.5 Business cards. This is a small piece of paper that contains information about the business usually
small and comfortable and can be carried in a purse or a wallet.

2.7 DISTRIBUTION STRATEGY

This are strategies on how you will receive products and also how you will distribute your products.

PRODUCER RETAILER CONSUMER

This channel has only one intermediary i.e the retailers. This is where the producer sells directly to large
retailers who will then sell the products to the final consumers.

2.7.1 means of distribution. As the business is just getting started, it can not be in a position to buy a
vehicle for distribution of the products. The business can afford means of transport such as

Motorbikes.
This is a cheap and efficient means of purchasing and maintenance for the upcoming business.

Tuktuk.
This is slightly bigger and larger than a motorbike and can carry goods in big quantity.

Bicycle.
Though this is the cheapest means but it is also limited to carrying bulk goods and can not travel for long
distances because it needs a lot of energy of man power.

Carts.
The business can own either a small or a big cart to transport some huge purchases to short distant
destinations.

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Problems and their possible solutions.
PROBLEMS SOLUTIONS
Insecurity -Employing guards to govern the business
Poor infrastructure -Changing the mode of transportation or routes
to transport the goods.
Language barrier -Using a suitable language or common language
that is understood by most customers
Weather conditions -Using on all weather roads to do the delivery
Traffic jam -By using flexible means of transport such as
motorbikes whenever there is jam
Insurance cover -Having insurance covers both the driver, the
vehicle and the products.
Skilled personnel -Having detailed driver license for safety

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CHAPTER THREE
3.0 ORGANIZATION AND MANAGEMENT. Management will be adhered to for any business to prosper.
Therefore the owner of the business needs to work hard to perform his duties effectively. The owner of
the business will need to employ other employees in order to combine efforts and enhance it’s
operations.

3.1 ORGANIZATION CHART

The management will be as follows

MANAGER

HUMAN
ACCOUNTANT RESOURCE

SECTRETARY WATCHMAN

3.2 MANAGER.
The manager shall be the business. He will act as the coordinator, controller, decision maker of the
whole business.

Qualifications.
Computer literate.
Creative and innovative.
Must be able to control and manage a business well.
Good communication skills. Diploma or a Degree in business management.

Experience.
-He should have at least a 5 years of experience as a manager so that he may carry out his duty as
required.

Duties and responsibilities.


-Decision making; He will be in charge of making decisions in the business also to his other employees.
Solving problems; He will be called upon to solve various problems and issues within the organization. -
-Control activities; He will control every activity taking place in the business to ensure everything runs

smoothly. -Financier; The manager will be responsible for catering for every capital/finances that is
required by the business.

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3.3 OTHER STAFF
3.3.1 HUMAN RESOURCE.

Education qualification.
-He/she must have a diploma in Human Resource.
-Good communication skills.
-Good working relationship.
-Must be computer literate.

Experience.
-He/she must have worked as a human resource manager for at least three years.

Duties and responsibilities.


-Administering compensation benefits and performance management systems and safety.
-Identifying staff vaccines and recruit, interview and select applicants.
-Provide current and prospective employees with information about job policies, duties, working
conditions, wages, opportunities for promotions and employee benefits. Advice manager on business
policy matters such as equal employment and sexual harassment.

3.3.2 SECRETARY.

Qualifications.
-Must have at least a diploma in secretarial.
-Have been fluent and adequate in speech in English and Kiswahili.
-Good communication skills.
-Good human relations.

Experience.
Must have worked as a secretary for not less than two years.

Duties.
-Ensure meetings are effectively organized and minutes.
-Maintaining effective records and administration.
-Upholding legal requirements of governing documents, charity law, company law, etc.
-Communication and correspondence.

3.3.3 ACCOUNTANT.

Qualifications.
-Must have undergone all the CPA states and have passed.
-Must be good in mathematics and calculations.
-Must be licensed and certified.
-Must be computer literate.

Experience.
Must have worked for at least three years in the previous companies

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Duties and responsibilities.
-Keep all financial documents into account.
-Prepare profit and loss statements on behalf of the business.
-Analyze budgets and other financial information and advice where savings could be made.
-Help produce budget for the business and implement strategies for costs savings.
-Ensure company accounts and tax returns and prepare fields correctly.

3.4 RECRUITMENT, TRAINING AND PROMOTIONS

3.4.1 Recruitment.
Advertisements; The posts of vacancies will be advertised i.e on business magazines. -
-Application on various posts/positions is done having in mind that the required qualifications.
Applications should be submitted within a specific period of time after the advertisements.
-Sorting out; After receiving the applications from applicants as short listing is done for those that seem
to qualify for the interview invitation letters will be sent to these shortlisted for the interview.
-Interview; Those shortlisted through the invitation letters will be required to attend to an interview.
Those that qualify after the interview will be called upon to report on a specific date.
-Job placement; After the interview and those applicable will be placed for the position they applied for.
The salary will be also discussed to them which is monthly.

3.4.2 Training.
-Orientation; Here the employees will be shown things that they are to do within their working period.
-Seminar; The employees both new and old will be advised to attend seminars and workshop. This will
help them to have knowledge about new and upcoming technologies.
-Job training; The newly employed employees are straight on how to do their job with perfection and
also under minimum supervision. Ensures that the job is done under minimum supervision.

3.4.3 Promotion. Promotions can be issued to the staffs who are hard working, honest, creative
and those who have additional certificates encourage them and give them the strength to work. 3.5
3.5 REMUNERATION AND INCENTIVES

3.5.1 Remuneration.
The employees salaries will be paid on monthly basis payment sales will be strictly considered and
followed so as to satisfy the employees thus improving their performance.

PERSONNEL NUMBER SALARY TOTAL


MANAGER 1 15,000 15,000
HUMAN RESOURCE 1 11,000 11,000
ACCOUNTANT 1 10,000 10,000
TECHNICIAN 2 8,000 16,000
WATCHMAN 1 5,000 5,000
57,000

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3.5.3 Incentives.
Allowances and incentives will be offered to the employees to motivate them to carry out their duties
well. These are;

Overtime payment.
Those working past working hours will be encountered the overtime cash in addition to their salaries.

Medical cover.
All employees will be guaranteed medical cover incase of any injury within the business premises also at
work.

Transport allowances.
Each employee will be given transport allowances of Kshs 150 daily.

3.6 LICENSING/REGISTRATION.

According to the Kenyan law, trade license act, the business will have to comply and acquire the license
of different forms in order to start operating.
LICENSE AMOUNT
Trading 10,000
Business permit 5,000
Business registration 5,000
TOTAL 20,000

3.7 SUPPORTING SERVICES

These are services the business need to operate

Banking services.
CO-OPERATIVE BANK.
P.O BOX 4650-00100.
NAIROBI

Insurance services.
BRITAM INSURANCE COMPANY
P.O BOX 4321-00400
NAIROBI

Water services
NAIROBI WATER COMPANY
P.O BOX 636-00100
NAIROBI

Electricity services
KENYA POWER AND LIGHTNING COMPANY

P.O BOX 5060-10100


NAIROBI

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Security services
MBWA KALI SECURITY
P.O BOX 1536-00100
NAIROBI

Garbage collection services


COUNTY COUNCIL OF NAIROBI
P.O BOX 94961-00200
NAIROBI

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CHAPTER FOUR
4.0 OPERATION/PRODUCTION PLAN
The proposed business will be dedicated to offer high quality jobs and skillful services to it’s customers.
The company also intend to be updated on any sort of new technology that may arise as time goes by
and inform it’s clients.

4.1 PRODUCTION FACILITIES AND CAPACITY


For efficiency and competitive running of the business will need the following production facilities as
shown in the table below.

PRODUCTION QUANTITY UNIT COST TOTAL COST SUPPLIER


Safety Boots 7 2,000 14,000 BATA
Desktops 3 40,000 120,000 BRYOTECH
ELECTRONICS
First Aid Kit 3 2,500 7,500 MATTER
HOSPITAL
Internet 1 6,000 6,000 SAFARICOM
Stamp 3 500 1,500 ARROW RUBBER
STAMP
Cards 100 50 5,000 PRINT AND
BRAND
Stapler 3 100 300 ARROW RUBBER
STAMP
TOTAL 154,300

24
4.2 PRODUCTION PROCESS

SITE ASSESSMENT IDENTIFICATION


GET
OF JOB MATERIAL
MATERIALS
FROM
SUPPLIERS

PAYMENT TRANSPORTATION LABOUR

SITE ASSESSMENT: This is where the assessment will be done where the installation or maintenance
services has been carried out by the employees to customers.

IDENTIFICATION OF JOB MATERIALS: A quotation of all the materials that would be needed till the end of
the job.

GET THE MATERIALS FROM THE SUPPLIERS: After the quotation, the list is sent to the clients who give
the go ahead if the job is to be done or not. If it’s to be done then the materials are bought.

LABOUR: Pams electricians are sent to the site where the job is to be done and complete within a
specific period of time.

TRANSPORTATION: Transport for the materials bought are catered for.

PAYMENT: This comes up after all the job is complete and after all is ensured to be in order. Payment is
then done through the business account.

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4.3 LICENCES

ITEM AMOUNT (KSH)


TRADE LICENCE 5,000
SAFETY 4,000
LABOUR LAW 3,000
INSURANCE 20,000
TAXATION 2,000
TOTAL 34,000

4.4 REGULATIONS AFFECTING OPERATIONS


The business will be having regulations that will be effective in the operation of the business enterprise.

4.4.1 Taxation
Each and every payment will be done every month to the government knowing which business tax to
pay them and how to set one’s business to account for future tax payments.

4.4.2 Email marketing


If the business engages in email marketing, there are separate regulations that the entrepreneur needs
to comply with.

4.4.3 Insurance
The company needs to ensure it’s premises for incase of certain risks such as fire, employees will also
have to be insured incase of accidents during work or within the work place.

4.4.4 Advertising
The entrepreneur should ensure to play by the rules and government regulations violating the rules.

4.4.5 Safety regulations accosts


This will be used by the ministry of public works and housing especially for servicing industry. This
enable the safety of employees within the premises.

26
CHAPTER FIVE
5.0 FINANCIAL PLAN
Every business must have a well laid plan. A financial plan consists of on how to acquire finances for the
business and how the finances will be spent within the business.

5.1 PERSONAL LIVING EXPENSES


ITEM COST

MONTH 1 MONTH 2 MONTH 3 TOTAL


Family expense budget 15000 15000 15000 45000
Fare 1500 1500 1500 4500
Barber 200 200 200 600
Clothing 2000 1000 500 3500
Credit card payment 500 500
500 1500
Life insurance 1000 1000
1000 3000
Rent 5000 5000
Water/Gabage collection 150 5000 15000
150 150
450

TOTAL 25350 24350 23850 73550

5.2 PRE-OPERATIONAL EXPENSES


This is where you put done the costs you can plan to enquire before a business starts running.

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ITEM AMOUNT (KSH)
Advertising 5,000
Beginning investing stock 70,000
Cash 10,000
Deposits 6,000
Fixtures and equipments 20,000
Insurance 10,000
Lease payments 5,000
Rent 6,000
Supplies 8,000
TOTAL 140,000

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5.3 MONTHLY CASH FLOW

RECEIPTS JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC TOTAL
KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH KSH
Beginning 140,00 130,00 140,00 150,00 120,00 130,00 180,00 150,00 160,00 130,00 150,00 200,00 1,780,00
cash 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Purchases 70,000 60,000 80,000 100,00 70,000 90,000 90,000 100,00 100,00 60,000 100,00 50,000 970,000
0 0 0 0
Sales 310,00 330,00 350,00 320,00 400,00 390,00 400,00 420,00 450,00 320,00 420,00 300,00 3,960,00
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
TOTAL CASH 380,00 400,00 410,00 370,00 450,00 430,00 490,00 470,00 510,00 390,00 470,00 450,00 5,220,00
FLOW 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
EXPENSES
Salaries 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000
Rent 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 6,000 72,000
Advertiseme 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 60,000
nt
Insurance 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 120,000
Water 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000 12,000
Electricity 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 24,000
Transport 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,500 18,000
Maintenance 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 3,000 36,000
TOTAL CASH 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 85,500 1,026,00
OUTFLOW 0
NET CASH 294,50 314,50 324,50 284,50 364,50 344,50 404,50 384,50 424,50 304,50 384,50 364,50 4,194,00
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

29
5.4 INCOME (PROFIT AND LOSS) PROJECTIONAL STATEMENT
MONTH JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC TOTAL
INCOME
Sales 310,000 330,000 350,000 320,000 400,000 390,000 400,000 420,000 450,000 320,000 420,000 300,000 3,960,000
Purchase 70,000 60,000 80,000 100,000 70,000 90,000 90,000 100,000 100,000 60,000 100,000 50,000 970,000
GROSS PROFIT 240,000 270,000 270,000 320,000 330,000 300,000 310,000 320,000 350,000 260,000 320,000 250,000 2,990,000

EXPENSES
Salaries 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 57,000 684,000
Advertisement 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 60,000
Supplies 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 8,000 96,000
Insurance 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 10,000 120,000
Loan interest 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 60,000
NET INCOME 155,000 185,000 185,000 135,000 245,000 215,000 225,000 235,000 265,000 175,000 235,000 165,000 1,970,000
BEFORE TAX
TAXES 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 180,000
NET PROFIT 140,000 170,000 170,000 120,000 230,000 200,000 210,000 220,000 250,000 160,000 220,000 150,000 1,790,000

30
5.5 PROJECTED BALANCE SHEET
BALANCE SHEET AS AT 1ST JANUARY 2022 (YEAR 1)
1. ASSETS LIABILITIES
2. Current assets KSH 9. Current liabilities KSH
Cash in hand and in 140,000 Accounts payable 180,000
bank
Inventory/stock 70,000 Short term loans 155,000
Pre-paid expenses 3,000 Interest payable 5,000
Short term 50,000 Value added tax 10,000
investments Long
term investments 150,000 Payroll accrual 57,000
2. TOTAL
CURRENT 407,000 10. TOTAL CURRENT 407,000
ASSETS LIABILITIES

4. Other Assets 11. Long Term


Liabilities
50,000 Long term loans 50,000
Goodwill
457,000 12. Total Long Term 50,000
5. Total Other Assets
Liabilities

13. TOTAL 457,000


LIABILITIES

6. Fixed assets 14. Capital


0 0
Land Retailed income
6,000 50,000
Buildings Owner’s equity
20,000 16,000
Equipments Other sources
40,000 66,000
Furniture 15. Total Capital
66,000
7. Total Fixed Assets

8. TOTAL ASSETS 523,000 16. TOTAL 523,000


LIABILITIES

31
5.7 FINANCIAL ANALYSIS
In every business, financial analysis is important where an analysis of the business
performance is conducted to establish the economic viability of the business

5.7.1 Calculation of the Breakeven point


The break-even points is the level at which sales revenue equals the cost.
At this level therefore, profit is zero. The entrepreneur must know the break-even point
of the business in order to ensure that reasonable profits are made and above costs
incurred in producing and selling.

FIXED COSTS AMOUNT


Rent 6,000
Salaries 57,000
Insurance 10,000
Advertisement 5,000
TOTAL 78,000
VARIABLE COSTS
Water 1,000
Electricity 2,000
Transport 1,500
Maintenance 3,000
TOTAL 7,500

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5.7.2 Break-even point sales
This is the amount of sales value at which no profit or loss is incurred by the business.

HEP (sales) = Annual sales × Annual fixed costs

Annual sales × Annual variable


cost

3,960,000 × 78,000

3,960,000 × 7,500

=10.4

5.7.3 Break-even point Production


This is the level of production at which no profit or no loss is incurred on the part of the business.
Production above this level will result in a profit and production below this point will result in a loss

BEP (production) = Break-even point sales

Unit selling price


=10.4/200 = 520.0

5.8 RATIO ANALYSIS


5.8.1 Profitable Ratios
Gross Margin Ratio = Gross Profit × 100
Total sales

= 29,900,000 ×100

3,960,000
=75.5%

Net Profit Margin = Net Profit Before Tax ×100


33
Sales
=1,970,000 = 49.7%
3,960,000

Return On Investment = Net Profit Before Tax × 100

Sales
=1,970,000
200,000
=98.5%

Liquidity Ratios = Current Assets

Current Liabilities
=523,000

523,000
=0

Quick Ratios = Current Assets - Stock


Current Liabilities
407,000 – 70,000
407,000

= 0.828

34
5.9 THE PROPOSED CAPITALIZATION

SOURCES OF CAPITAL AMOUNT


Personal savings 50,000
Family and savings 40,000
Bank loan 60,000
Leasing 50,000
TOTAL 200,000

5.10 DISIRED FINANCING


ITEM AMOUNT
Pre-operational costs 140,000
Working capital 200,000
TOTAL 340,000

5.11 RISK ASSUMPTION

FIRE: In any case of fire caused by either electricity or any other cause, the business will intend
to buy fire extinguisher for any type of fire

WATER SPOILAGE: The business will be insured against this type of risk in case it occurs.

THEFT: As we all assume there’s always a possibility of theft, the business will intend to
install cctv cameras in the premise and employ a security guard. The business will also insure
the goods against this type of risk.

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