ISSUE 7 / NOVEMBER-DECEMBER 2011

Vroom Vroom

@Ceiga magazine is awesome! Escape Studios W0W! it really blow my min
ZelfreimStudios
@Ceiga Embarrassed that i have only just found your mag.. great work.. Illumicdigital

Nice magazine I found o vimeo. If you ever want t storyboard artist in the f love to share some of my Jonathan Winbush

This is Sam from the Vimeo Staff. In case you're not aware, a bunch of us on the Vimeo Staff are big fans of your site. I personally check the Ceiga blog every day. Sam Morrill

Got Something

@Ceiga A great set of images for issue 6 I have signed up for more! Cheers. NJB2000

Greetings and keep poetoem@gmx.net

A #ff for the work of @Ceiga. If you're into 3D digital animation, check out this free online m jetsetnick

Enjoying the blog @Ceiga! ShrutiParulekar

I am very thankful for in The magazine looks grea Fabio Bautista

nd -->

I for one have added this to my list of things to check out in it's 'bi-monthly release'. Ian Davis

out about it from your info on to feature motion graphics future let me know I would y work.

@Ceiga This is truly wonderful... QualityLobster

I recently flicked through your latest issue of Ceiga – it looks great! Sarah Slee

g Nice To Say?

p up your good eye for awesome Art.

I just like your site, great inspiration resource, thanks io.fotinos@gmail.com

D artwork or magazine now.

This magazine is truly an inspiration to all, Even tho I am very new to the Maya world, I hope one day to be as good as the images depicted in this magazine. I aspire to be that good, with time, effort and a lot of tutorials I hope to be their in the next few years. Thanks Ceiga for this amazing mag :) Richard Jones

ncluding my work in this issue. at!

@Ceiga thx for the follow! Congratulations for the great magazine! Crekvenik

37

contents
NOV - DEC 2011

On the front Need For Speed

012
14

Post Apocolyptic 24 I’ll Race Ya! Show Off

34 44 56

30 64

Corvette C1

47
ceiga.co.uk

20

And now

There’s finally something
For you fans of print!

on
http://www.magcloud.com/browse/magazine/277943

All the great CG videos

on one channel

on
http://vimeo.com/channels/ceiga

WHEN A MAN OPENS A CAR DOOR FOR HIS WIFE, IT'S EITHER A

OR A NEW WIFE.

I
ceiga.co.uk

- Prince Philip
t’s been a whole year since the first issue of Ceiga and a quite a bit has changed since that time. The unexpected popularity of the blog, the ever-growing popularity of the magazine in the CG industry, the new design of the site, the new Vimeo channel and now, the ability to have a print version of the magazine thanks to Magcloud. Thank you to everyone who supported Ceiga by following me on Twitter, liking me on Facebook or simply viewing the magazine. Anyway back to the usual routine, this issue is all about CG cars. The topic of cars has been touched on in a previous issue so this might be a bit of a ‘deja

vu’ for regulars. CG cars are not too difficult to model but very difficult to render and light realistically, that’s why it’s always impressive to see an image of a realistic CG car, and that’s why I’ve decided to put this issue together.

Richard Bray Editor

R.Bray

NEW CAR

Front
‘SLR Outdoor #1’ by EXIDGE (exidge.cgsociety.org). Modelled and in 3D Studio Max.

On The

F
ceiga.co.uk

inding an image for the front cover of this issue took a while. There are so many good images of cars out there I was tempted to have multiple front covers. Then I came across this amazing image of a Mercedes SLR by EXIDGE.

The image somewhat invites you to take a look at the car with its doors open, its light on and its position in the image. It works perfectly on the front cover of the magazine, making the viewer wonder what is inside the magazine. Makes me want to jump into it and drive it away.

NEED FOR SPEED

Aniket Bhatkar

.

warriormax@live.in

Audi .
3ds max

370Z Drift Scenes . .
Rhangga Adian Putra fractalife.cgsociety.org

Maya

AUDI S5 GTR series . .
Gunnar Assmy gspotsimulant.deviantart.com

CINEMA 4D

BMW .
Khrutskiy Yan

khrutskiy.cgarena.com

.

XSI

GT-40 In Vegas . .
Luis Nieves lendesign.comFordGT40

Maya

BMW X6 At Night City . .
Darius Makowski dariuszmakowski.com 3ds max

Rhangga Adian Putra

Mitsubishi LancerSL Drift Scene . .
fractalife.cgsociety.org Maya

NOVITEC F430 . .
EXIDGE exidge.cgsociety.org 3ds max

Pagani Zonda R . .
Johal Gow johalgowcg.com XSI

Buggy desert front . .
Marek Denko marekdenko.net 3ds max

POST
APOCALYPTIC
Suggested by - Alex Gregory @acGregore

Ravaged Vehicle . .
Alan Van Ryzin polygoo.com 3ds Max

The Duster . .
Anton Turkin zwilling.cgsociety.org

3dsmax

Open Road .
Waldemar Bartkowiak

mancubus.cgsociety.org

.

Lightwave 3D

On Wheels .
Anton Cherenko

cherenkoart.blogspot.com

.

3ds Max

Car
Anton Cherenko

.

cherenkoart.blogspot.com

.

3ds Max

Once upon a time... . .
Gustavo Groppo gu.cgsociety.org 3ds Max

Wal-Mart 2161 . .
Brano Florian branoflorian.net

3ds Max

Civic 5d Postapocalyptic edition . .
Alexander Neskoromyuk neskoromyuk.com 3ds max

Top Secret Weapon . .
Andrey Krygov akd85@mail.ru 3ds Max

I’ll Race Ya

F1 2009 Scudería Ferrari F60 . .
Juan Carlos Jiménez Vadillo anypixel.com 3ds max

Aston Martin LMP . .
LeeJaeBum jbum.co.kr 3ds max

F1 Race
Herner Quintero & Eisenheim Mark Duvjänco

.

markduvjanco.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max

Ferrari F60 Felipe Massa 2009 . .
Raymond Yang bignanfer.cgsociety.org 3ds Max

Formula Renault 2.0 . .
Kirill Kuzin taurusx.cgsociety.org 3ds max

Renault R26 . .
Raymond Yang bignanfer.cgsociety.org

3ds Max

F1
Carlos Ortega Elizalde

.

ak.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max

Victory .
Shamim Reza

razee01@yahoo.com

.

3ds Max

SHOW OFF
King cobra 427concept
Arturo Garcia

.

dessga.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max

450 GranTurismo S . .
Artem Volchik artemstudios.com 3ds Max

2012 CLS render 01 . .
Jeff Patton jeffpatton.net 3ds max

Aston Martin DBS . .
Patrick Danneker danneker.de 3ds max

Audi R8 Nurbs - iRay . .
Andre Kutscherauer ak3d.de 3ds max

Exterior Audi R8 . .
Vladimir Akimov beatframes.net 3ds max

Lamborghini Aventador . .
Maurice Panisch maurice-panisch.de CINEMA 4D

Lamborghini Dream . .
Flavio Silva flaviosilva.cgsociety.org 3ds max

Lexus LFA . .
Isaiah Takahashi relatedgrey.com

3ds max

Mclaren MP4-12C . .
Anas Yakoub anasyakoub.com 3ds max

Mazda MX5 .
Alejandro Albarracin

alejit0.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max

Corvette C1
All of the images in this section were created by artist Jakub Przybolewski (reflectvision.pl) modelled with 3D Studio Max.

C

M

Y

CM

MY

CY

CMY

K

The 4th ACM SIGGRAPH Conference and Exhibition on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques in Asia Conference: 12-15 December | Exhibition: 13-15 December Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Celebrate the Excellence of CG at SIGGRAPH Asia 2011!
This December, our stellar conference programs will explore new ideas, interactively engage, fascinate, and stimulate collaborations between the industry and academia. Join us at SIGGRAPH Asia in Hong Kong!

Register Now and Save
Network with and reach out to the industry’s movers and shakers. Choose between Full Conference or Basic Conference passes with admission to all or a variety of programs. Trade visitors can enjoy free admission by registering onsite for the Exhibits Only pass.

Research and Development

Interactive Technologies

Trade and Networking Opportunities

State-of-the-art Courses

Digital Art

Animation and Visual Effects

Online registration at www.siggraphasia2011.com closes on 4 December, 23:59 Hong Kong time.

www.SIGGRAPH.org/ASIA2011

STUDIO LIST
Aardman www.aardman.com Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com Air CGI www.air-cgi.com AKQA www.akqa.com Animatic Media animaticmedia.com Annix Studios www.annix.com Artillery www.artillery.tv Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com Base Black baseblack.com BE Animation beanimation.com Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk Bravo Games bravogames.com BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com Cinesite www.cinesite.com Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com Double Negative www.dneg.com Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk Envy www.envypost.co.uk

(UK only)

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com Framestore www.framestore.com Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com Golden Square www.goldensq.com Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk ICube www.icube3d.co.uk Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com I love Dust www.ilovedust.com Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk Jagex www.jagex.com Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk

Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com Lionhead Studios lionhead.com LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com Lola www.lola-post.co.uk Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com Matinai www.matinai.com MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com Method Studios www.methodstudios.com Molinare www.molinare.co.uk Motion Imaging wearemi.com Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com MPC www.moving-picture.com Munky www.munky.uk.com

Neon www.neon.tv Neoscape www.neoscape.com Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com Nvisible nvizible.com OG International www.og-international.net Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com Peerless www.peerless.co.uk Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com Qurios www.qurios.com Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com Realise www.realisestudio.com Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com Rushes www.rushes.co.uk Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com Slide slidelondon.com Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/ Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com Taylor James www.taylorjames.com Ten 24 www.ten24.info Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk The Mill www.themill.com The Senate www.senatevfx.com The Works www.worksltd.co.uk Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk TT Games www.ttgames.com We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com Zoo zoovfx.com